Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram (PMJVK)

Context: The areas under PMJVK have been increased from 90 Districts originally to 308 Districts of the country.


  • Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram (PMJVK) of the Ministry of Minority Affairs seeks to provide better socio-economic infrastructure facilities to the minority communities particularly in the field of education, health & skill development.
  • It would further lead to lessening of the gap between the national average and the minority communities with regard to backwardness parameters.
  • At present 6 (six) communities namely Muslims, Sikhs, Christians, Buddhists, Zoroastrians (Parsis) and Jains have been notified as Minority Communities under Section 2 (c) of the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992.
  • The erstwhile Multi-sectoral Development Programme (MsDP) has been restructured and renamed as Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram for effective implementation since 2018. 
  • The restructured Programme will be implemented as “Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram (PMJVK)” during the remaining period of 14th Finance Commission i.e. upto 2019-20.
  • It will be implemented as a Centrally Sponsored Scheme.
  • It aims to address development deficits in the identified minority concentration areas.
  • The identification of minority concentration areas (at the village, block, town and district headquarter level) has been done on the basis of the presence of a substantial population of notified Minority Communities based on socio-economic, basic amenities and population data of Census 2011.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Call Now Button